Walking All Over Cancer this June!

Hi folks.

This month my blog posts will be slightly off topic as I’ve signed up to Cancer Research UK’s #WalkAllOverCancer campaign and will be posting about my progress right here.

The aim is to walk at least 10,000 steps each day, every day, for the whole of June. For the average person, that works out at about 5 miles a day, or 150 miles over the month, which just happens to be the approximate distance between my house in Leicestershire and my spiritual home of Whitby, North Yorkshire.

To add a bit of fun to proceedings I’m going to be charting my ‘progress’ on a map, plus posting regular updates, photos and occasional calls for sponsorship on my blog.

As of 2pm this afternoon, my FitBit tells me I have walked 2,580 steps.

Woeful, isn’t it? The perils of having a nine-to-five desk-based job, and a six-to-the-small-hours desk-based passion (I hate calling writing a ‘hobby’). But the challenge of walking a little bit further each day is nothing compared to what cancer sufferers, their friends and loved ones, have to deal with. I doubt there’s a single one amongst us who hasn’t been touched by this awful disease in some way, and I’m proud to be doing my bit to help fund vital research in the quest to put an end to cancer once and for all.

You can find out about the fundraiser here and sponsor me here.

In the meantime, Whitby calls…

X

20161028_115336

 

Leave a Reply

